Media & news

Dr. Steven Eckert wins Nobel Biocare Brånemark Osseointegration Award

by: Michael Stuart

The Academy of Osseointegration (AO) has awarded the 2017 Nobel Biocare Brånemark Osseointegration Award to Dr. Steven Eckert.

The accolade was presented to Dr. Eckert, from Minneapolis, Minnesota, US, during the Opening Symposium of Academy of Osseointegration’s (AO) 2017 Annual Meeting, held last month.

Dr. Steven Eckert

The annual award is given by OF, the philanthropic arm of AO. It recognizes individuals whose impact on, and leadership in, implant dentistry is exemplary in any or all of the Foundation’s mission categories: research, education, and charitable causes.

A former AO president, in 2006 Dr. Eckert became the second editor-in-chief of the International Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Implants (IJOMI), a position he still holds today.

“Significant improvement in clinical practice”

“Dr. Steven Eckert has a distinguished record of leadership in the Academy, rising to president in 2007,” said Dr. Myron Nevins, president of AO. 

“He has done a remarkable job as editor-in-chief of IJOMI, extending the horizons of our journal, especially with expansion of the electronic edition.  He has inspired professionals in our field to author papers, and we are all grateful for the information IJOMI provides.  It all translates into significant improvement in clinical practice and improved patient results.”

Previous Nobel Biocare Brånemark Osseointegration Award honorees are (in chronological order):

  • Per-Ingvar Brånemark, MD, PhD
  • William R. Laney, DMD, MS
  • George A. Zarb, BChD, DDS, MS
  • Daniel VanSteenberge, MD, PhD
  • Ulf Lekholm, DDS, Daniel Buser, DDS, DMD
  • Professor Tomas Albrektsson
  • Stephen M. Parel, DDS, and Ole Jensen, DMD.  

The award is made possible by a grant from Nobel Biocare. Candidates are proposed by members of the OF’s Titanium Society.

More to explore